Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Any other Problems relating to Digital/Analogue CCTV

Moderator: ezcctv

Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby chenghun » Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:38 pm

Hi all,

I'm having problem since 26-Dec-2008. However, i ping my jni.dipmap.com address and it response but when ping 192.168.0.155 where i configure for webcam internet access it does not replied.

All the port foraward such as port 80, 4550 and 5550 have been enable in my D-link router and Webcam server activated with port 80 or 81 still cannot access, Firewall also off. Any idea?

Your kind response is very much appreciated ;-)
chenghun
Beginner
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby ezcctv » Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:17 pm

Hi,

it might be worth downloading and reading our comprehensive webcam guide on our knowledgebase section:
http://www.ezcctv.com/knowledgebase.htm

Some things to check:

1. Does the Geovision system have an active internet connection?
2. If you open IE on the GeoVision system and type http://localhost do you see the webcam server page?
3. Have you disabled or configured windows firewall or any other 3rd part antivirus/firewall software e.g. Norton?
3. On the GeoVision machine, go to http://www.canyouseeme.org and type in the webcam ports.
80, 4550, and 5550. This website will check to see if they are open.
If they are not, double check your router settings and maybe check out www.portforward.com and find your router guide.
User avatar
ezcctv
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:38 am

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby chenghun » Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:57 am

Hi,

Some things to check:

1. Does the Geovision system have an active internet connection?
*****Yes, I can browse other website easily*****
2. If you open IE on the GeoVision system and type http://localhost do you see the webcam server page?
*****No, when type in http://localhost the following message come out*****

The webpage cannot be found
HTTP 404
Most likely causes:
There might be a typing error in the address.
If you clicked on a link, it may be out of date.


But it is okay and can see the webcam seever page if i type in Http:localhost:81 (i'm using port 81)

3. Have you disabled or configured windows firewall or any other 3rd part antivirus/firewall software e.g. Norton?
***** I already disbale Window firewall and tried before disable Mcafee firewall but still cannot access*****

4. On the GeoVision machine, go to http://www.canyouseeme.org and type in the webcam ports.
80, 4550, and 5550. This website will check to see if they are open.
If they are not, double check your router settings and maybe check out http://www.portforward.com and find your router guide.
*****When type in http://www.canyouseeme.org and key in port 81 (im using port 81 on Webcam server), 80, 4550 and 5550 it returns with Error: I could not see your service on 60.54.57.3 on port (80, 81,4550 and 5550)
Reason: Connection timed out*****


On top of that, I also tried to telnet 60.54.57.3 80/81/4550/5550 but could not open connection to the host, on port 80/81: connect failed.

Also when tried telnet localhost 80/81 it is ok


Very appreciate your kind reply and wish you can help me to resolve this soon and wish you Happy New Year and a good year in 2009 ;-)
chenghun
Beginner
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby ezcctv » Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:36 am

Hi,

The fact that you can get to the webcam ok using http://localhost:81 means it is running ok.
You could also try it from another PC on the same network (if you have one) but you would need to type:
http://[local ip address of geovision pc]:81 e.g. http://192.168.1.10:81

As the telnet / canyouseeme tests failed, you should check your router port forwarding settings.
You should be forwarding ports 81, 4550 and 5550 to the local IP address of the GeoVision PC.

If you want to double check the port forwarding settings, go to http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm and find your router model, then follow the instructions.

If canyouseeme cannot "see" ports 81, 4550 and 5550 as "open", go back and double check your router settings again and possibly reboot the router after changing any settings.
User avatar
ezcctv
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:38 am

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby chenghun » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:34 am

Hi,

Now the problem resolve after I followed your advise to check port forwarding and found that the root cause indeed is the protocal type must be "Both" instead of "TCP". It is working fine after changed to Both and many thanks for your effort and kind advise ;-)

Lastly, i found when access using Jpeg Image Viewer and the Jpeg is not updating and I'm having Java Version 6 Update 11(build 1.6.0_11-b03). Anyway to resolve this so that the Jpeg is always updating?
chenghun
Beginner
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby ezcctv » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:50 am

JPEG view is seldom used to be honest.
But you could try changing the quality down in webcam server setup.

Also, what browser are you using? Firefox?

Most people use IE and MPEG4 viewer or MultiView - the standalone remote viewing software.
User avatar
ezcctv
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:38 am

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby chenghun » Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:20 am

Hi,

I'm using both IE and Firefox and experience the same problem. Also problem remain same despite i reduce the quality in webcam server setup.

Anyhow, i guess it is not so urgent for this and once again I would like to thanks your kind effort for advise here ;-)
chenghun
Beginner
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: Dipmap ping ok but still cannot view Webcam via Internet?

Postby nite-uk » Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:35 pm

Glad you got it sorted, port forwarding can be a nightmare at times.

I've even had a Draytek router (which are high end £££ routers) mysteriously stop advertising a port all of a sudden, for no reason, even tho the port was still listed in the active redirection table.

I had to remove the entry and re-add it again.

One to watch out for.

CCTV North West
CCTV Wigan
CCTV Blackburn
ADR CCTV
CCTV Southport
CCTV Lancashire
CCTV Manchester
CCTV Preston
User avatar
nite-uk
Contributor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: http://www.cctvnorthwest.co.uk


Return to General CCTV Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests